Cultural commitment

Support for the Congolese guitar maker Zacar in marketing

Zacar taught himself how to make guitars, and now runs a workshop with several employees. His handmade instruments are appreciated by his customers because of their high quality. International interest speaks to the exceeding precision of the sound.

Neno supports Zacar commercializing his guitars on the internet and through the creation of flyers and posters, so he can maintain or even expand his shop.

Production process of a guitar in Zacar’s shop (above), Bukavu/DRC, June 2016

Transcribing and publishing traditional Congolese legends

Ntambouka is a Congolese poet. Beside his own writings, he collects sagas and traditional stories from the Congo. These have usually been passed down orally for generations. Through the change of society, the tradition of story-telling is disappearing. Neno is helping Ntambouka to edit and publish the collected stories to preserve this cultural heritage for posterity.

 

The writer Ntambouka at a personal meeting in Bukavu/DR Congo (June 2016)

Songs and myths of the Loulanguistes

Neno supports the committed musician Thomas Lusango in recording songs and legends of traditional musicians in the east of the DR Congo named “Loulanguistes” . The objective is to preserve and revive this cultural asset. Similar to the griots of West Africa, traditional musicians in Congo have played an important role in the past for the social cohesion and peaceful coexistence. Today, their societal importance is being lost, a process that is accelerated by the armed conflict. With the support of several Neno members, who are also artists themselves, Thomas will record their songs, make them available to the public on a website and play them on the radio.

Thomas Lusango recording traditional musicians.

Kulturelles Engagement

Unterstützung des kongolesischen Gitarrenbauers Zacar im Marketing

Der Gitarrenbauer Zacar hat sich sein Handwerk selbst beigebracht. Mittlerweile betreibt er eine Werkstatt und hat mehrere Mitarbeiter. Seine handgemachten Instrumente werden von seinen Kunden aufgrund der hohen Qualität sehr geschätzt. Der Klang übersteigt in seiner Präzision  sogar etliche Gitarren, welche international vertrieben werden.

Neno unterstützt Zacar, seine Gitarren im Internet und mit Flyern und Plakaten besser zu vermarkten, damit er seinen Betrieb erhalten und möglichst noch erweitern kann.

Entstehungsprozess einer Gitarre im Atelier von Zacar (oben), Bukavu/DR Kongo, Juni 2016

Verschriftlichung und Veröffentlichung traditioneller kongolesischer Sagen

Ntambouka ist ein kongolesischer Dichter. Neben seinen eigenen Texten, sammelt er Sagen und traditionelle Geschichten aus dem Kongo. Diese sind über Generationen meist nur mündlich überliefert worden. Durch den Wandel der Gesellschaft ist jedoch die Tradition des Geschichtenerzählens heute am aussterben. Neno unterstützt Ntambouka dabei, die gesammelten Geschichten zu redigieren und zu veröffentlichen, damit dieses kulturelle Erbe für die Nachwelt erhalten bleibt.

Der Schrifsteller Ntambouka bei einem persönlichen Gespräch in Bukavu/DR Kongo (Juni 2016)

Lieder und Sagen der Loulanguistes

Neno unterstützt den engagierten Musiker Thomas Lusango dabei, Lieder und Sagen von traditionellen Musikern, den „Loulanguistes“, im Osten der DR Kongo aufzunehmen um dieses Kulturgut zu bewahren und wiederzubeleben. Ähnlich wie die Griots Westafrikas haben die traditionellen Musiker im Kongo in der Vergangenheit eine wichtige Rolle für den Zusammenhalt und das friedliche Zusammenleben gespielt. Ihre Bedeutung geht aber immer mehr verloren, was durch den bewaffneten Konflikt noch beschleunigt wird. Mit Unterstützung von mehreren Neno- Mitgliedern, die auch selbst Kunstschaffende sind, wird Thomas ihre Lieder aufnehmen, auf einer Website der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung stellen und sie in den Radios spielen.

Thomas Lusango bei Audio-Aufnahmen.