Cultural commitment

Support for the Congolese guitar maker Zacar in marketing

Zacar taught himself how to make guitars, and now runs a workshop with several employees. His handmade instruments are appreciated by his customers because of their high quality. International interest speaks to the exceeding precision of the sound.

Neno supports Zacar commercializing his guitars on the internet and through the creation of flyers and posters, so he can maintain or even expand his shop.

Production process of a guitar in Zacar’s shop (above), Bukavu/DRC, June 2016

Transcribing and publishing traditional Congolese legends

Ntambouka is a Congolese poet. Beside his own writings, he collects sagas and traditional stories from the Congo. These have usually been passed down orally for generations. Through the change of society, the tradition of story-telling is disappearing. Neno is helping Ntambouka to edit and publish the collected stories to preserve this cultural heritage for posterity.

 

The writer Ntambouka at a personal meeting in Bukavu/DR Congo (June 2016)

Songs and myths of the Loulanguistes

Neno supports the committed musician Thomas Lusango in recording songs and legends of traditional musicians in the east of the DR Congo named “Loulanguistes” . The objective is to preserve and revive this cultural asset. Similar to the griots of West Africa, traditional musicians in Congo have played an important role in the past for the social cohesion and peaceful coexistence. Today, their societal importance is being lost, a process that is accelerated by the armed conflict. With the support of several Neno members, who are also artists themselves, Thomas will record their songs, make them available to the public on a website and play them on the radio.

Thomas Lusango recording traditional musicians.

Engagement culturel

Soutien du luthier congolais Zacar en marketing

Le luthier Zacar a appris lui-même son métier. Il gère maintenant un atelier où il emploie plusieurs artisans. Ses instruments faits à la main sont appréciés pour leur qualité remarquable. La précision du son dépasse celle des guitares distribuées à l’échelle internationale.

Neno soutient Zacar en réalisant des flyers et des affiches afin de mieux commercialiser ses guitares. Ces activités de marketing contribuent au maintien et au développement de l’atelier de Zacar.

 

Processus de production d’une guitare dans le magasin de Zacar (ci-dessous), Bukavu/RDC, juin 2016.

Transcription et publication de légendes congolaises traditionnelles

Ntambouka est un poète congolais. Outre ses propres textes, il recueille des légendes et des histoires traditionnelles du Congo. Au cours des générations passées, ces histoires ont été transmises oralement. Cependant, la société évoluant, la tradition de l’histoire orale est en train de s’éteindre. Neno soutient Ntambouka afin qu’il puisse éditer et publier les histoires et légendes collectées, contribuant ainsi à la préservation de ce patrimoine culturel.

Le poète Ntambouka au cours d’une rencontre à Bukavu/RDC (Juin 2016)

 

Chansons et myths des loulanguistes

Neno soutient le musicien engagé Thomas Lusango dans l’enregistrement de chansons et de légendes de musiciens traditionnels  de l’Est de la RD Congo appelés « loulanguistes » afin de préserver et de faire revivre ce patrimoine culturel. Comme les griots d’Afrique de l’Ouest, les musiciens traditionnels du Congo ont joué un rôle important pour la cohésion sociale et la coexistence pacifique. Cependant, leur importance est de plus en plus perdue. Un processus qui est accéléré par le conflit armé. Avec le soutien de plusieurs membres de Neno, qui sont des artistes eux-mêmes, Thomas enregistrera leurs chansons, les mettra à la disposition du public sur un site Web et les diffusera à la radio.

Thomas Lusango faisant des enregistrement audio.