About us

About the association

Neno is a non-profit, politically independent and denomination-neutral association, registered in Switzerland. Neno was founded in 2016 and is based in Berne, Switzerland. The general assembly is its supreme body, which meets once a year. The management board is responsible for the day-to-day business and represents the association externally.

Board members

Alexander Kopp, co-president of Neno. Alex has been working for 10 years on various areas of international governance of natural resources. For three years he worked with local NGOs and media in Eastern Congo on the illegal trade in minerals and supported their research and campaigns. He is currently working as an independent consultant on various projects of natural resource governance. Furthermore, he regularly writes for newspapers. He holds a Master’s degree in Sociology and a Postgraduate degree in Development and Cooperation from ETH Zurich.

Désirée Ruppen, co-president of Neno. After studying geology, Désirée worked as a project manager and research associate in international projects on the management of natural resources and the sustainability of industrial systems. From 2013-2016 she was involved in a certification project on conflict minerals (tin, tantalum, tungsten and gold) in the DR Congo where she advised the technical services of the Congolese Ministry of Mines, mining cooperatives and civil society concerning the implementation of the certification system. Since September 2017 she has been working on her PhD thesis at the Institute for Science, Technology and Policy (ISTP) of ETH Zurich and investigates pollutant loads in surface water in mining areas in Zimbabwe.

Janosch Perler, webmaster. Janosch has studied at the Art School in Bern and is an independent artist and musician. He also works as a graphic designer for different cultural associations. In the past years, he also has been working for various social institutions in the past years.

Rachel Kalbermatten, accountant. After completing her commercial apprenticeship in a trust agency, Rachel continued working as an accountant in the real estate sector. She also completed a diploma as a trustee at the KV Business School in Zurich. For more than three years now, she is managing finances and personnel of an SME in the building services engineering sector in the canton of Valais.

Local partner organizations

In the field of mineral resources’ governance, Max Impact is one of the most active and renowned NGOs in DR Congo. The organization has considerable research experience and has conducted extensive research on the traceability of minerals.

Asadho South Kivu is the South Kivu office of one of the leading NGOs in the DRC. Specialized in investigative research, they have repeatedly caused a stir by pointing out important grievances in the mineral sector.

Legal information

The statutes and the foundation minutes can be viewed here (in German) :

Über uns

Über den Verein

Neno ist ein gemeinnütziger, politisch ungebundener und konfessionell neutraler Verein nach dem Schweizer Zivilgesetzbuch. Neno wurde 2016 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in Bern. Sein oberstes Organ ist die Mitgliederversammlung, die sich einmal jährlich trifft. Der Vorstand führt die laufenden Geschäfte und vertritt den Verein nach aussen.

Vorstandsmitglieder

Alexander Kopp, Co-Präsident. Alex arbeitet seit 10 Jahren zu verschiedenen Bereichen der internationalen Governance von natürlichen Ressourcen. Während drei Jahren hat er im Ostkongo mit lokalen NGOs und Medien zum illegalen Rohstoffhandel gearbeitet und deren Recherchen und Kampagnen unterstützt. Er arbeitet zurzeit als unabhängiger Consultant in verschiedenen Projekten zum internationalen Rohstoffhandel. Nebenbei schreibt er auch regelmässig für Zeitungen. Er hat einen Master in Soziologie und das NADEL (Nachdiplomstudium für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit) an der ETH abgeschlossen.

Désirée Ruppen, Co-Präsidentin.  Nach ihrem Geologiestudium hat Désirée als Projektmanagerin und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in internationalen Projekten zum Management natürlicher Ressourcen und der Nachhaltigkeit von Industriesystemen gearbeitet. Von 2013-2016 war sie in einem Projekt zur Zertifizierung von Konfliktmineralen (Zinn, Tantal, Wolfram und Gold) in der DR Kongo tätig und beriet vor Ort die technischen Dienste des kongolesischen Bergbauministeriums, Bergbaukooperativen sowie die Zivilgesellschaft in der Umsetzung des Zertifizierungssystems. Seit September 2017 doktoriert sie am Institut für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Politik (ISTP) der ETH Zürich und untersucht Schadstoffbelastungen in Gewässern in Bergbaugebieten in Simbabwe.

Janosch Perler, Webmaster. Janosch hat an der Hochschule der Künste Bern studiert und ist freischaffender Künstler und Musiker. Nebenbei arbeitet er als Grafiker für diverse kulturelle Institutionen. Er hat zudem in verschiedenen sozialen Einrichtungen gearbeitet, unter anderem in einem Quartiertreff in Biel.

Rachel Kalbermatten, Buchalterin. Nach dem Abschluss ihrer KV-Lehre in einem Treuhandbüro war Rachel als  Immobilienbuchalterin tätig. Sie absolvierte zudem eine Ausbildung zur Treuhänderin an der KV-Business School in Zürich. Seit mehr als drei Jahren verwaltet sie nun die Finanzen und das Personal einer KMU der Gebäudetechnik im Wallis.

Lokale Partnerorganisationen

Max Impact ist eine der aktivsten und renommiertesten NGOs Kongos im Bereich der Rohstoff- Governance, die über beträchtliche Rechercheerfahrung verfügt und ausführlich zu Fragen der Nachverfolgbarkeit von Rohstoffen geforscht hat.

Asadho Süd-Kivu ist die Süd-Kivu Geschäftsstelle einer der führenden NGOs in der DR Kongo. Spezialisiert auf investigative Recherchen im Rohstoffbereich, haben sie durch das lückenlose Aufzeigen von Missständen wiederholt für Aufsehen gesorgt haben.

Rechtliches

Die Statuten und das Gründungsprotokoll können Sie hier einsehen: