About us

About the association

Neno is a non-profit, politically independent and denomination-neutral association, registered in Switzerland. Neno was founded in 2016 and is based in Berne, Switzerland. The general assembly is its supreme body, which meets once a year. The management board is responsible for the day-to-day business and represents the association externally.

Board members

Alexander Kopp, co-president of Neno. Alex has been working for 10 years on various areas of international governance of natural resources. For three years he worked with local NGOs and media in Eastern Congo on the illegal trade in minerals and supported their research and campaigns. He is currently working as an independent consultant on various projects of natural resource governance. Furthermore, he regularly writes for newspapers. He holds a Master’s degree in Sociology and a Postgraduate degree in Development and Cooperation from ETH Zurich.

Désirée Ruppen, co-president of Neno. After studying geology, Désirée worked as a project manager and research associate in international projects on the management of natural resources and the sustainability of industrial systems. From 2013-2016 she was involved in a certification project on conflict minerals (tin, tantalum, tungsten and gold) in the DR Congo where she advised the technical services of the Congolese Ministry of Mines, mining cooperatives and civil society concerning the implementation of the certification system. Since September 2017 she has been working on her PhD thesis at the Institute for Science, Technology and Policy (ISTP) of ETH Zurich and investigates pollutant loads in surface water in mining areas in Zimbabwe.

Janosch Perler, webmaster. Janosch has studied at the Art School in Bern and is an independent artist and musician. He also works as a graphic designer for different cultural associations. In the past years, he also has been working for various social institutions in the past years.

Rachel Kalbermatten, accountant. After completing her commercial apprenticeship in a trust agency, Rachel continued working as an accountant in the real estate sector. She also completed a diploma as a trustee at the KV Business School in Zurich. For more than three years now, she is managing finances and personnel of an SME in the building services engineering sector in the canton of Valais.

Local partner organizations

In the field of mineral resources’ governance, Max Impact is one of the most active and renowned NGOs in DR Congo. The organization has considerable research experience and has conducted extensive research on the traceability of minerals.

Asadho South Kivu is the South Kivu office of one of the leading NGOs in the DRC. Specialized in investigative research, they have repeatedly caused a stir by pointing out important grievances in the mineral sector.

Legal information

The statutes and the foundation minutes can be viewed here (in German) :

Qui sommes-nous ?

L’association Neno

Neno est une association sans but lucratif, politiquement indépendante et confessionellement neutre selon le code civil suisse. Neno a été fondée en 2016 et est basée à Berne. Son organe suprême est l’assemblée générale qui se réunit annuellement. Le conseil d’administration est responsable de l’activité courante et représente l’association à l’externe.

Les membres du conseil d’administration

Alexander Kopp, co-président de Neno. Alex travaille depuis 10 ans dans divers domaines de la gouvernance internationale des resources naturelles. Pendant trois ans, il a travaillé à l’est de la RD Congo avec des ONG et des médias locaux sur le commerce illicite de minerais en soutenant leurs recherches et leurs campagnes. Actuellement, il travaille en tant que consultant indépendant sur divers projets sur la gouvernance des matières premières. Il écrit aussi régulièrement pour des journaux. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sociologie et d’un diplôme en développement et coopération de l’ETH Zurich.

Désirée Ruppen, co-présidente de Neno. Après des études en géologie, Désirée a travaillé comme chef de projet et collaboratrice scientifique dans des projets internationaux sur la gestion des ressources naturelles et la durabilité des systèmes industriels. De 2013 à 2016, elle a été employé dans un projet de certification des minerais de conflit (étain, tantale, tungstène et or) en RDC et a conseillé les services techniques du ministère de mines congolais, les coopératives minières et la société civile dans la mise en œuvre du système de certification. Depuis septembre 2017, elle se consacre à son doctorat à l’Institut pour la Science, la Technologie et la Politique (ISTP) de l’ETH Zurich où elle étudie la pollution des eaux de surface dans des zones minières au Zimbabwe.

Janosch Perler, gestionnaire Web. Janosch a etudié à la Haute école des beaux arts à Berne et travaille comme artiste et musicien indépendant. Il s’engage comme graphiste pour diverses associations culturelles et a également travaillé dans des institutions sociales, dont un lieu de rencontre à Bienne.

Rachel Kalbermatten, comptable. Après avoir terminé son apprentissage de commerce dans une fiduciaire, Rachel a travaillé comme comptable dans le secteur de l’immobilier. Elle a également effectué une formation de fiduciaire à la Business School de Zurich. Depuis plus de trois ans, elle gère aujourd’hui les finances et le personnel d’une PME dans le secteur de l’ingénierie du bâtiment en Valais.

Organisations partenaires locales

Dans le domaine de la gouvernance des matières premières, Max Impact est l’une des ONG les plus actives et les plus renommées en RD Congo. L’organisation possède une expérience de recherche considérable et a mené des recherches approfondies sur la traçabilité des minerais.

Asadho Sud-Kivu est le bureau locale au Sud Kivu de l’une des principales ONG de la RD Congo. Spécialisée dans les études investigatives dans le domaine des matières premières, ils ont fait sensation à plusieurs reprises en montrant des abus scandaleux dans le secteur minier.

Questions juridiques

Les statuts et le dossier de base peuvent être consultés ici (en allemand):